Swim teams sweep the GLVC Championships

Swim teams sweep the GLVC Championships

Sports Comments Off 15

Written by Ryan Dickey

Drury University’s men’s and women’s swimming & diving teams both won the Great Lakes Valley Conference championship on Saturday after four days of competition in Crawfordsville, Indiana.

The Panthers men’s team won the conference title by nearly 200 points as they compiled 867 points to Missouri S&T’s 677.5 The championship is the fourth straight GLVC title for Drury’s team.

Drury’s women’s squad won the championship with 894 points. It is the third title in four years for the Panther women’s squad. Truman State was second with 790.5 points and Indianapolis finished third with 562.5.

Drury’s Bailee Nunn was named the GLVC Women’s Swimmer of the Year. Nunn was also named GLVC Co-Freshman of the Year with teammate Erica Dahlgren.

Men’s swimmer Joan Casanovas was named the GLVC Men’s Freshman Swimmer of the Year.

Missouri S&T head coach Doug Grooms declined being named the GLVC Coach of the Year and decided to grant the honor on Drury coaches Brian Reynolds and Doug Schranck.

The Drury men’s team started the final day of completion with a first and second place finishes in the 1650-yard Freestyle. Joan Casanovas broke a conference record by more than six seconds with a winning time of 15:25.83.

Konrad Stepien was second in the event with a time of 15:26.34.

The Panthers 400-yard Freestyle Relay team capped the event setting a conference record as Daniel Rzadkowski, Joan Casanovas, Jun Han Kim and Rodrigo Caceres combined for a time of 2:56.67.

Women’s swimmer Dahlgren had a record-setting win in the 1650-yard Freestyle with a time of 16:50.91, breaking the previous record by nearly five-and-a-half seconds. Megan Ouhl finished third with a time of 17:02.13 while Ella Bryan finished fourth with a 17:16.91 behind Dahlgren.

Bailee Nunn set the conference record in the 400-yard Freestyle Relay with Madeline Nelson, Caylee Wright and Erica Dahlgren. The relay team defeated defending league champion, Truman State, who had all four returning. They also broke the Bulldogs league record time from last year as the Panthers posted a time of 3:23.96.



Back to Top